Fighting For Your Rights After A DUI/DWI Arrest
Facing a drunk driving charge in South Jersey is often frightening and overwhelming. For a lot of people, it can be the first time they are in trouble with the law. If you have been arrested for or charged with a DUI/DWI, I can help you navigate the complexities of New Jersey drunk driving laws. With decades of experience in the criminal justice system, I started The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen because I am passionate about defending my clients’ rights and freedoms. I work with every client to craft the best possible defense to counter the charges filed against you. I have defended many DUI/DWI cases in New Jersey and Pennsylvania and litigated in municipal courts in Pennsauken, Winslow, Voorhees, Monroe, Deptford, Hammonton and Atlantic City and throughout South Jersey.
Facts About New Jersey’s Strict DUI/DWI Laws
New Jersey does not make any distinction between DUI and DWI (driving while intoxicated). You can also be charged even if consuming prescribed drugs for driving under the influence of drugs. New Jersey state law also uses implied consent, meaning that anyone driving a motor vehicle has already given consent to take a chemical test to determine their blood alcohol content. Individual facing allegations of DUI or driving under the influence of alcohol and may face even more serious charges if they refuse to take a breathalyzer test.
Urine And Blood Evidence To Prove DUI
In most DUI cases, blood alcohol content is determined using a breath test. But sometimes, other chemical testing is conducted using urine testing or a blood test. While you cannot refuse to take a breath test in New Jersey, unlike other states you can refuse to take a blood test or urine test unless the law enforcement officer has a warrant.
Examining All Aspects Of A DWI Case
Many times, New Jersey DUI offenses are defended based on a violation of your constitutional rights. The police cannot just stop anyone for a traffic violation, and there must be significant proof that you are driving drunk. Mere suspicion and guesses are not enough to make an arrest. The police can only arrest you based on a significant amount of evidence of intoxication. Further, they are only permitted to arrest you if they have “probable cause.”
Many of these types of DWI cases and other driving offenses are successfully defended by hearings challenging the validity of the arrest. My years of experience in New Jersey criminal law and traffic defense make me eminently qualified to handle any type of DUI case in municipal courts throughout New Jersey.
Penalties For Conviction Of A DUI Crime
At The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen, I understand that being charged with drunk driving in New Jersey can be scary because the penalties are often severe. For example, all DUI/DWI convictions are permanently recorded at the New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles, which imposes a mandatory insurance surcharge (between $3,000 and $5,000) on drivers with drunk driving convictions in New Jersey. The amount you have to pay for a surcharge will depend on how many prior DUI or DWI convictions you have had.
In addition to monetary fines and penalties, a driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction could result in the loss of your driver’s license, insurance surcharges, motor vehicle points, suspension of registration and even incarceration. Further still, if your job requires any type of driving, you may find yourself unemployed after being convicted of drunk driving since you can no longer drive to work.
Getting Your Life Back On Track After A DWI
I understand that many drunk driving cases are the result of a mistake, and you may never have been arrested before. This can place a great deal of stress on individuals and their families and you probably have a lot of questions. I am here to help you every step of the way in your case. Do not attempt to fight DUI/DWI charges alone. We can work together to pursue a resolution to the situation that helps you move forward with your life and protects your family.
Schedule A Free Consultation With Me
If you or a loved one has been charged with a drunk driving offense, I am here to help. Let’s get started building your defense today. Contact my Haddonfield office online or call 856-754-5501 to schedule your free initial consultation. I can meet you at my office or wherever you may be incarcerated.