Assault by Auto Defense Lawyer in Haddonfield, NJ Defends Clients Rights in Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and Throughout South Jersey
Assault by auto charges in the state of New Jersey can have serious consequences. These charges can be categorized as something as small as a disorderly persons offense to something as severe as a second-degree assault. While this situation can be overwhelming, help is available. It is in your best interest to talk to me, New Jersey criminal defense attorney Jill R. Cohen.
I understand how you are feeling and will work to pursue the possibility of having your sentencing and penalties reduced, as well as defend you in court. I have worked for decades in the New Jersey and Philadelphia area and have experience working for both the prosecution and defense side of the legal battlefield.
Secure Your Future With Experienced and Dedicated Defense; Schedule a Free Consultation With Me, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney Jill Cohen, to Fight For Your Rights and Seek The Justice You Deserve.
Assault By Automobile Criminal Degree Charge Categories In New Jersey
There are different degrees of severity for assault by auto, with different penalties associated with them. These degree categorizations and penalties are as follows:
- Disorderly persons assault by auto: This occurs when any type of bodily injury, regardless of severity, is caused as a result of reckless driving of an automobile, motorcycle or boat. There is a maximum fine of $1,000 and six months in jail as associated penalties.
- Fourth-degree assault by auto: Similar to the lowest crime level, except this crime level is associated with “serious bodily injury” when the driver causes harm to another. A conviction could land you up to 18 months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
- Third-degree assault by auto: If drugs or alcohol were involved in your reckless driving that causes harm to another, you may be charged with a third-degree offense, which can result in a 10-year maximum prison sentence. This is considered a separate crime and charge to any DWI/DUI or DUID charges.
- Second-degree assault by auto: If the crime happens to occur in or near a designated school zone or in an area where you aware of the presence of juveniles, an assault by auto charge can be upgraded to a second-degree criminal charge. This level of conviction could lead to 10-20 years of incarceration. If the use of a smartphone is proved to be part of the cause of your recklessness, you can also have your criminal charges upgraded to a more serious level of third or second depending on the severity of the injuries you inflict on the victim(s).
"Jill is a miracle worker. She got all 5 of my serious gun, assault and domestic terrorism charges completely dismissed. She made ample time for me; coming to all 3 of my hearings. She deserves 10 stars!"Frank P.
"I just recently hired Ms. Cohen to defend me. I feel very confident with my freedom in her hands, all that I can say is she’s knowledgeable and educated about her job. Her integrity with her clients means everything."Law 55
“I am so grateful to Ms. Cohen for all of the hard work she did on my case. She believed in my innocence and fought for me from the beginning and in each step of the way. Because of her, my very serious charges were dismissed. She also was so kind as to include my wife and telling her everything that was happening. I would highly recommend Ms. Cohen to fight for any type of charges you have and I believe that she will get the best result possible.”Anayeli R. View All Client Reviews
Additional Criminal Charges You Can Face
If you were driving while under the influences of drugs or alcohol, you can face separate DUI/DWI or DUID charges and risk the suspension or loss of your license, the installation of an ignition lock system, and heavy fines.
It is important to note that should the individual you harmed with the vehicle later die from injuries suffered, this can be classified as a death by auto case and a potentially separate criminal charge. If they die much later on from complications of the injuries they suffered after recovery, you could also face a wrongful death suit by their family.
Whatever you do, do not flee the scene of an accident you are in, whether you caused it or not. In cases in which you caused the accident in any way, especially an assault by auto scenario, is considered to be a “hit and run” and is a separate criminal charge that carries with it very serious penalties if convicted.
Schedule A Free Consultation With Me Today
If there is anyone who will know what to expect with your case, work to protect your rights and future, and how to combat the prosecution, it is me, attorney Jill R. Cohen. Contact my office today to get a free initial consultation and a legal adviser you can depend on. I represent criminal defendants throughout New Jersey in Camden, Cherry Hill, Gloucester Township, Winslow, Pennsauken, Voorhees, Lindenwold, Haddon Township, Collingswood and Haddonfield.