Refusal of Breathalyzer Lawyer in Haddonfield, NJ Defends Clients After The Refusal Of a Breath Test in Camden County, Burlington County, Gloucester County, and Throughout South Jersey
In the state of New Jersey, police officers who are under the reasonable assumption that you may be driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DWI) can and will administer a breathalyzer test. Under New Jersey state law, by holding a driver’s license, you imply your consent to this test simply by being on the road. Although refusing the breath test can seem like the optimal choice, as first-time offense penalties are less severe than a DUI/DWI conviction, it is usually not the best option. If you have refused a breath test, it is time to get a New Jersey breath test refusal attorney.
Secure Your Future With Experienced and Dedicated Defense; Schedule a Free Consultation With Me, New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney Jill Cohen, to Fight For Your Rights and Seek The Justice You Deserve.
How New Jersey Breath Test Refusal Attorney Jill Cohen Can Help With Your Case
At The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen, I understand how overwhelmed and scared people feel when they are pulled over and refuse a breath test. As a highly experienced criminal defense attorney, I have insight into all the different strategies that can be used to fully defend you against any charges you are facing. Together, we can pursue a resolution to the case that is in your best interests, while protecting your family and freedom. I may be able to prove a wide variety of things in court to prevent a guilty verdict on breath test refusal, such as proving you were physically incapable, genuinely confused regarding your legal requirements, or that the police officer did not have probable cause or follow proper arrest and test administration procedures.
"Jill got me out of a lot of traffic trouble. State police wrote over 10 tickets. Jill got me off with only careless driving and failure to present documents, everything else got dismissed. So I am very happy with the results. I highly recommend Jill."UNV Observer D.
"Jill works hard to defend the people that she represents in court."Michael M.
"She is very nice she works with you step-by-step, and she keeps you very informed about your case. She has great service, excellent workmanship, and she put her all into getting you the best results. Thanks a lot Jill R. Cohen."Keshia D. View All Client Reviews
Implied Consent Law And Breath Test Refusal Penalties And Fines
New Jersey breath test law, also known as an implied consent law, requires that any and every driver on the road submit to a chemical breath test, also called a breathalyzer or Alcotest, if a police officer requests the driver to take one. If you refuse a breath test, you will be subject to face penalties in the court of law, including fines and driver’s license suspension.
The following penalties can generally follow a breath test refusal conviction:
- First offense: A monetary fine of between $300-$500 and a 7-12 months driver’s license suspension
- Second offense: The fine is increased to between $500 to $1,000, and driver’s licenses are suspended for two years.
- Third offense: A third refusal to submit to a breath test is punishable by a fine of $1,000 maximum and a 10-year license suspension.
Other penalties may be added to the list above in the form of fines paid to the New Jersey Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund, and the driver will be required to satisfy certain requirements imposed by the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). One of the main requirements that one may face is the installation of an ignition interlock device that prevents one from starting their engine if they have been drinking alcohol.