Providing Support,

Advocacy And Guidance

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Sex Crimes
  4.  » Sexual Assault

Aggressive Representation For Those Accused Of Sexual Assault

Anyone facing sex crime charges in New Jersey may be understandably embarrassed and overwhelmed. Sex crime convictions are life-changing and include serious prison time, lifelong registration as a sex offender under Megan’s law and a permanent criminal record that will make getting a job, a loan or an apartment extremely difficult in the future. Therefore, it’s important to take any sex crime charge in New Jersey very seriously.

If you or someone you love has been charged with sexual assault, it is imperative that you contact an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. I am attorney Jill R. Cohen, and I am one of the few lawyers in New Jersey who has been certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a criminal trial attorney. I understand the impact that sexual assault charges can have on your life and reputation, as well as the stress they can cause. I will safeguard your reputation while doing everything possible to successfully fight your charges.

Facts About Sexual Assault

Sexual assault is a crime of the second degree in New Jersey and includes inappropriate penetration, touching, attempted rape, molestation and more. If you are convicted of a sexual assault charge, you will face five to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, and you will be forced to register as a sex offender under Megan’s law. Further, the penalty for this second-degree crime falls under the No Early Release Act (NERA). This law mandates that the violator serve at least 85% of their sentence before becoming eligible for parole. Also, there is a period of parole for three years even after you complete any prison term.

A sexual assault charge applies to the following scenarios:

  • The actor makes sexual contact (not sexual intercourse) with a victim less than 13 years old while the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
  • The actor, who is at least four years older than the victim, commits an act of sexual penetration with a victim older than 13 but less than 16 years old.
  • The actor sexually penetrates a victim who is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age, and the actor is related, a guardian or a supervisor to the victim.
  • The actor commits an act of sexual penetration under any of these conditions:
    • The actor uses physical force or coercion without sustaining injury to victim.
    • The victim is physically helpless, mentally defective or mentally incapacitated (such as unconscious).
    • The actor had a supervisory role over the victim, such as a parole officer, hospital worker or prison guard.

Be aware that there is no statute of limitations on sexual assault in New Jersey. A victim can allege sexual assault at any time and report it to the police – even 30 years or more after the alleged crime took place. However, these cases can be beat.

Request A Free Consultation With Me Today

Do not talk to the police. Instead, get a lawyer immediately. Police cannot talk to you without an attorney present once you ask for legal representation. After speaking with you and informing you of your rights and legal options, I will be by your side throughout the police investigation.

Don’t delay if you are charged with sexual assault in Camden, Voorhees, Gloucester City, Washington Township, Atlantic City, Egg Harbor, or anywhere else in New Jersey. Contact my firm today by calling 856-754-5501 or sending me a message online.