Manslaughter Heat of Passion Defense Lawyer in Pennsauken, NJ
NJ Criminal Defense Attorney Defends Clients Facing Charges for Manslaughter Crime of Passion in Camden County, Atlantic County, and Gloucester County
When a person is provoked to commit homicide in New Jersey, the criminal charge is often passion-provocation manslaughter. These murders happen fast and can involve sudden rage where the individual has little time to rationalize their actions. In these cases, while the charge would normally be classified as murder, a downgraded charge of passion/provocation manslaughter (N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4(B)(2)) may be obtained under NJ law.
Camden County criminal defense attorney Jill R. Cohen, Esq. has been recognized by the Supreme Court of the State of New Jersey as a certified criminal trial lawyer. Very few attorneys in NJ receive this honor, which is bestowed on a legal professional who meets the state Supreme Court’s incredibly high standards. Ms. Cohen will fight your charges and defend your rights. She will do everything possible to protect your freedom and your future, whether you’ve been charged with “heat of passion” manslaughter in Gloucester City, Cherry Hill, Franklin Township, Atlantic City, Egg Harbor, or anywhere else in South Jersey.
What Constitutes Passion/Provocation Manslaughter in NJ?
Even when passion manslaughter is not the initial charge, an aggressive Camden criminal defense attorney can negotiate with prosecutors in an effort to get the charges downgraded. This is important because a New Jersey manslaughter charge carries significantly less severe penalties than a first degree charge such as murder.
Ms. Cohen will fiercely defend you against your NJ homicide charges. She will seek to prove you or a loved one was provoked in a way that would incite a reasonable person to act in the “heat of passion.” To do this, she may attempt to successfully show that:
- The defendant was actually provoked.
- A reasonable person would not have had time to cool off in the situation.
- The defendant did not cool off prior to the homicide.
Be aware that having a “bad temper” or mental disturbance does not lower the expectations for what constitutes a “heat of passion” action.
What Are the Penalties for a Passion/Provocation Manslaughter Conviction in Camden County, NJ?
Anyone convicted of this second degree felony charge in New Jersey will face 5-10 years in NJ State Prison. There is an accompanying fine that can reach up to $150,000 as well. This charge is included in New Jersey’s No Early Release Act (NERA), which calls for 85 percent of a term to be served before the individual is eligible for parole and release from prison. Compared to a murder or aggravated manslaughter charge in New Jersey, passion/provocation penalties require significantly less prison time and lower fines.
This is why you should waste no time in contacting the Law Office of Jill R. Cohen, Esq. if you or a loved one is facing charges for any serious violent crime in South Jersey, including passion manslaughter. Ms. Cohen will get to work immediately defending you and protecting your future.
Talk to an Experienced Voorhees Criminal Defense Attorney About Your NJ Heat of Passion Manslaughter Charges for Free
When you are facing criminal charges with consequences that will affect you and your family for years to come, it’s essential that you obtain legal assistance from a dedicated Camden County criminal lawyer. Skilled South Jersey criminal attorney Jill Cohen has been practicing criminal law for more than 30 years. She is also a former prosecutor in Camden County, giving her experience that she will use to your advantage.
For a free consultation with a New Jersey criminal defense lawyer who will provide personalized attention and relentless dedication each step of the way, contact the Law Office of Jill R. Cohen today. Ms. Cohen will answer your questions, explain your options, and get started fighting for justice for you and your family.