DUID Lawyer in New Jersey
South Jersey DUI Lawyer Defends Those Charged with Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Camden, Gloucester, Burlington, Atlantic, Salem, Mercer, and Cape May County, NJ
If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) in Camden, Mercer, Burlington, or any other counties throughout the southern and central New Jersey areas, you could face very serious penalties upon conviction in court. This is especially true if this is not your first offense and can even include permanent loss of your driver’s license. If you are facing drugged driving charges, Jill R. Cohen can defend you to the full extent of the law with over thirty years of experience under her belt. Contact Jill Cohen’s office today for a free initial consultation involving your DUID charges.
Understanding a DUID Charge in South Jersey
A DUID charge is similar to a DWI/DUI in that involves being under the influence of a substance that causes negligence while behind the wheel and poor driving ability. The difference is that a DUID covers controlled substances both illegal and legal instead of alcohol. This can include both illegal drugs such as meth or cocaine or legal pharmaceutical drugs and prescription medications like Xanax or Percocet.
In order to determine if your DUID charge is valid, many things have to be considered in court including:
- Evidence through drug urine testing,
- Police Report
- Analysis of substance in question and how it can impair a driver’s ability to operate a vehicle
- Driver’s assessment to show if the driver could present or presented to be a clear danger to others on the road.
Legal and Prescription Drugs in Regards to a Camden County New Jersey DUID
In the state of New Jersey, you can receive a guilty verdict regarding a DUID charge even if the substance in consideration was not illegal or unlawfully obtained. Prescription medications that clearly say you cannot operate a vehicle or machinery during use can still count as driving under the influence of drugs. Even if you aren’t abusing the drug and taking it as prescribed, certain medications can affect your reaction time and other behaviors that are important for driving. This is especially true of anxiety or pain-killer medications that slow you down and also cause sleepiness. Be sure to consult a doctor if you are unsure if a medication is safe to use when you plan to operate a motor vehicle.
DUID Penalties in New Jersey
Penalties for a DUID conviction can be minor or severe depending on if it is a first time offense, the level of the substance in your body, the possession of the drug (if an illegal substance) while in the car, and what the substance in question was. First-time offenders with a DUID violators will receive up to $500 in monetary fines, a temporary suspension of their driver’s license, and around two days of incarceration. Those who have been convicted of a DUID three or more times can be penalized with up to $1,000 in monetary fines, temporary or permanent loss of their driver’s license, and up to six months of jail time.
Avoiding Conviction for a DUID Charge in NJ
Getting a quality New Jersey defense attorney can mean the difference between being convicted of a DUID or being found innocent. Unlike a DWI where there is a widely used breath test that can be used as substantial evidence against you, DUID involves much more complicated testing involving blood or urine samples. DUIDs have a more complicated process, and so that can make cases easier to defend.
If you find yourself in court with a drugged driving charge, there are several ways that a criminal defense attorney can help:
- Proving in court there is not enough substantial evidence to prove the consumptions of a claimed substance
- Bringing forth quality evidence that show you were of healthy mind and under the influence
- Proving a specific drug test used by a police officer was unreliable or administered incorrectly
- Show that an officer did not fully read your rights before an arrest or pulled you over without probable cause
In cases where a criminal defense attorney cannot prove your innocence or get the charges dropped, they can still work with the judge to have sentencing or penalties lowered, especially if your case is seen in the New Jersey Superior Drug Court or in cases of a first time offense.
Driving Under the Influence of Drugs Defense Attorney Jill Cohen Helps Clients in Camden, Burlington, Gloucester, Atlantic, Mercer and Salem County with DUID Charges
Whether you were charged with a DUI, DWI, or a DUID, penalties you will face can be harsh and make life a lot more difficult if you face long term driver’s license suspensions. Criminal defense litigator Jill Cohen can use her experience working on both side of New Jersey Drug Court to help get penalties reduced and keep you on the road to get to work and where you need to be. Contact her today for a free consultation regarding your charges of driving under the influence of drugs. Jill Cohen has been representing criminal defendants throughout New Jersey in Camden, Cherry Hill, Gloucester Township, Winslow, Pennsauken, Voorhees, Lindenwold, Haddon Township, Collingswood and Haddonfield.