On Your Side Fighting Charges Of Driving Under The Influence Of Drugs
If you have been charged with driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) in Camden, Mercer, Burlington or any other counties throughout the southern and central New Jersey areas, you could face very serious penalties upon conviction in court. This is especially true if this is not your first DWI/DUI offense and can even include permanent loss of your driver’s license.
If you are facing driving under the influence charges, turn to me, attorney Jill R. Cohen. I can defend you to the full extent of the law with over 30 years of experience under my belt. Having handled numerous DUID charges throughout my decades of practice, I understand the toll these cases can take on an individual and their family. It is important to me that your rights are protected and a resolution to the case suits your best interests. Together we can see that your family and future are preserved.
Understanding A DUID Charge In New Jersey
A DUID charge is similar to a DWI/DUI in that it involves being under the influence of a substance that causes negligence while behind the wheel and poor driving ability. The difference is that a DUID covers controlled substances both illegal and legal instead of alcohol. This can include both illegal drugs such as meth or cocaine or legal pharmaceutical drugs and prescription medications like Xanax or Percocet.
In order to determine if your DUID charge is valid, many things have to be considered in court, including:
- Evidence through drug urine testing
- Police report
- Analysis of substance in question and how it can impair a driver’s ability to operate a vehicle
- Driver’s assessment to show if the driver presented or could present to be a clear danger to others on the road.
Legal And Prescription Drugs In Regard To A New Jersey DUID
In the state of New Jersey, you can receive a guilty verdict regarding a DUID charge even if the substance in consideration was not illegal or unlawfully obtained. Prescription medications that clearly say you cannot operate a vehicle or machinery during use can still count as driving under the influence of drugs. Even if you aren’t abusing the drug and taking it as prescribed, certain medications can affect your reaction time and other behaviors that are important for driving. This is especially true of anxiety or pain-killer medications that slow you down and also cause sleepiness. Be sure to consult a doctor if you are unsure if a medication is safe to use when you plan to operate a motor vehicle.
DUID Penalties In New Jersey
Penalties for a DUID conviction can be minor or severe depending on if it is a first-time offense, the level of the substance in your body, the possession of the drug (if an illegal substance) while in the car and what the substance in question was. First-time offenders with a DUID violation will receive up to $500 in monetary fines, a temporary suspension of their driver’s license and around two days of incarceration. Those who have been convicted of a DUID three or more times can be penalized with up to $1,000 in monetary fines, temporary or permanent loss of their driver’s license, and up to six months of jail time.
Helping You Face Your DUID Charges
Whether you were charged with a DUI, a DWI or a DUID, penalties you will face can be harsh and make life a lot more difficult if you face long-term driver’s license suspensions. I work to protect you from these consequences. Call my Haddonfield office today at 856-754-5501 or contact me online to schedule your free initial consultation.