South Jersey Criminal Defense
Sexual Assault Innovative & Aggressive Personal Representation

Camden County Sexual Assault Defense Attorney

Offering Client-Focused Representation

Anyone facing sex crime charges may be understandably embarrassed and overwhelmed. Sex crime convictions are life-changing and include serious prison time, lifelong registration as a sex offender under Megan’s Law, and a permanent criminal record that will make getting a job, a loan, or an apartment extremely difficult in the future. Therefore, it’s important to take any sex crime charge very seriously.

If you or someone you love has been charged with sexual assault – including prostitution, aggravated sexual assault, unlawful sexual contact, or lewdness – it is imperative that you retain an experienced and knowledgeable sexual assault defense attorney who can safeguard your reputation while fighting your charges. Attorney Jill R. Cohen is one of the few lawyers in New Jersey who has been certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey as a Certified Criminal Trial Lawyer. She has a proven track record of protecting her clients from publicity while creating effective defense strategies.

Contact The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen at (856) 351-5115 to request a free and confidential consultation about your case.

Understanding Sexual Assault Charges

Sexual assault is a crime of the second degree and includes inappropriate penetration, touching, attempted rape, molestation, and more.

A sexual assault charge applies to the following scenarios:

  • The alleged perpetrator makes sexual contact (not sexual intercourse) with a victim less than 13 years old while the perpetrator is at least four years older than the victim.
  • The perpetrator – who is at least four years older than the victim – commits an act of sexual penetration with a victim older than 13 but younger than 16.
  • The perpetrator sexually penetrates a victim who is at least 16 but younger than 18 years of age, and the perpetrator is related, a guardian, or a supervisor to the victim.
  • The perpetrator commits an act of sexual penetration under any of these conditions:
    • Using physical force or coercion without injuring the victim
    • The victim is physically helpless, unconscious, mentally defective, or mentally incapacitated
    • Having a supervisory role over the victim, such as a parole officer, hospital worker, or prison guard

Be aware that there is no statute of limitations on sexual assault in New Jersey. A victim can allege sexual assault at any time and report it to the police — even 30 years or more after the alleged crime took place. However, these cases can be beaten with the right Camden County sexual assault defense attorney on your side.

Penalties for a Sexual Assault Conviction

If you are convicted of sexual assault, you will face five to 10 years in prison and you will be forced to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law.

Further, the penalty for this second-degree crime falls under the No Early Release Act (NERA). This law mandates that the violator serve at least 85% of their sentence before they are eligible for parole. On top of that, there is a three-year period of parole even after you complete any prison term.

With penalties that will affect your life for years or even decades to come, counsel from a Camden County sexual assault lawyer is in your best interest. At The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen, we have had considerable success fighting sexual assault charges for clients throughout Camden County because we know the burden of proof in these cases is often difficult for the state to meet. In fact, as a former prosecutor, Attorney Jill Cohen knows how her former colleagues think and act when they build cases against people facing sex crimes. She will use that experience to your advantage.

Request A Free Consultation

If you are under investigation for sexual assault or have already been arrested, avoiding talking to the police. Instead, retain a lawyer right away. Police cannot talk to you without an attorney present once you ask for legal representation.

After speaking with you and informing you of your rights and legal options, Camden County sexual assault defense attorney Jill Cohen will be by your side throughout the police investigation.

Discuss your case with us today by calling (856) 351-5115.


Proven Track Record of Success

Dedicated to Achieving the Best Possible Results for Each Individual Case

  • Aggravated Assault Not Guilty
  • Aggravated Manslaughter Appeal Granted
  • Aggravated Sexual Assault Dismissed
  • First Degree Aggravated Sexual Not Guilty
  • Restraining Orders Dismissed
  • Sexual Assault Dismissed
/

Protect Your Future

Schedule Your Free Consultation

(856) 351-5115

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.