Philly Woman Charged with DWI in New Jersey
Most of us wouldn’t think of driving away from a curious New Jersey police officer who has approached our legally parked, yet running car. We know it’s always appropriate to stay calm, keep the car in park, and ask the officer “What’s the problem?”
A woman from Philadelphia was recently charged with driving under the influence (DUI) when a police officer found her in a parked vehicle. The officer saw the woman in the vehicle because the headlights were on.
When the police officer approached the woman on foot, she switched off the headlights and drove the car away. Shortly thereafter, the officer stopped the vehicle.
She was charged with failure to use headlights, reckless driving, and possession of an open alcohol container in a motor vehicle.
We don’t know if this is the woman’s first DUI charge. Under NJ Rev Stat § 39:4-50 (2013), she faces the following penalties for a first or second DUI conviction:
- If this is her first DUI arrest, she faces up to 30 days in jail plus a minimum $250 to maximum $500 fine, three to 12 months’ driver’s license suspension, and the possibility of a required ignition interlock device.
- If this is her second DUI arrest, she faces up to 90 days in jail, a $500-$1,000 fine, up to 24 months’ driver’s license suspension, and the possibility of a required ignition interlock device.
If convicted of reckless driving under NJ Rev Stat § 39:4-96, she faces the addition of five points to her driving record and a ticket. The cost of a first-time reckless driving ticket is up to $300 for a first-time offense. New Jersey law regards “reckless driving” as operating a vehicle with “willful” or “wanton disregard” for others’ rights and safety that endangers (or is likely to endanger) another person or property.
Of course, the addition of points will also increase the defendant’s auto insurance premiums for years to come.
She faces an additional $200 fine for NJ Rev Stat § 39:4-51B (possession of open alcohol container) for a first offense. If she is facing a second (or subsequent) offense, she must pay an additional $250 fine and provide 10 days of community service.
Under NJ Rev Stat § 39:3-56, operating without at least two front-lighted lamps, she faces a ticket charge of about $54.
As you can see, the cost and inconvenience of even a single DUI offense are significant. If you have been charged with DUI in New Jersey, contact an experienced DUI defense lawyer in Camden County. A defense attorney can make a difference in your case outcome. Contact The Law Office of Jill R. Cohen to arrange a confidential case evaluation now.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney/client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.