In lots of respects, New Jersey’s laws against drinking and driving or driving while drugged are strict.
A person living in or around Haddon Township, including people in Atlantic City and Camden, should be well aware of what these laws are and should also know the possible penalties for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence conviction.
New Jersey’s drunk driving laws have a broad reach
One common misconception is that a person has to drive over the limit, that is, with .08 blood alcohol content, before police can arrest her and charge her with drunk driving.
While this is one way a person can get charged, a person can also receive a criminal charge if, in an officer’s opinion, the person was driving erratically or exhibiting some signs of drunkenness or of being under the influence of drugs.
Finally, New Jersey law also allows prosecutors in the right circumstances to charge those who allowed a drunk driver to operate a vehicle even if that person was not drinking. There are additional penalties for those caught driving with any alcohol in their systems who are under the legal drinking age.
The penalties even for a first-time DWI are steep
Even without any aggravating circumstances, a person convicted of a first-time DWI faces a criminal fine between $250 and $400 and up to 30 days in jail.
Additionally, they will have to pay for an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for 3 months and will also pay an annual surcharge of $1,000 for three years.
They will also have to spend 12 hours over two days attending a legally required class designed to prevent drunk driving. Court-required fees also apply.