When a New Jersey judge or jury convicts you of a criminal offense that is sexual in nature, you have an obligation to register as a sex offender with the state. Known as “Megan’s Law,” the law seeks to make it so that sex offenders feel the consequences of their convictions long after they take place.
According to Klaas Kids, Megan’s Law first took effect in 1994 and requires you to register as a sex offender after committing any number of different sex offenses.
What offenses fall under Megan’s Law
Megan’s Law requires that you must register as a sex offender in New Jersey if you received a conviction for sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault. You also must do so if convicted of aggravated criminal sexual contact or endangering the welfare of a child in a sexual manner. Convictions for criminal restraint or false imprisonment also require you to register under Megan’s Law, among other sexually based offenses.
How long you have to register under Megan’s Law
Once a judge or jury hands down a conviction for a sexually based offense, you must register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law within a particular timeframe. You must register prior to your release from jail or prison and once the state places you on supervision. If you are coming from out of state and have a sex offense in your history, you must register as a sex offender within 10 days of arriving in the state. You also must do so 10 days before you change your address.
Failing to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law may lead to a host of additional legal problems.