Members of a New Jersey police department arrested one of their own recently after responding to an alleged domestic violence incident.
Prosecutors said that the officer was charged with harassment, aggravated assault and stalking. He is now suspended from his position without pay, but the department will wait for the prosecutor’s office to complete its investigation before taking any further action.
The man had only been on the force for a few months, having been hired as a police recruit. He took his oath of office just over a month ago after going through training.
The officer could wind up with a felony conviction on his record
One of the officer’s charges is aggravated assault in the third degree. This is a felony in New Jersey and can land a person in prison for up to 5 years.
A person may also have to pay up to $15,000 in fines and may be subject to other penalties as well, including probation, mandatory counseling or other classes and a restraining order.
Furthermore, in the case of someone in a profession or trade, including policing, a conviction related to domestic violence can mean a person cannot continue to work in his career of choice.
Aside from finding it more difficult to get hired, a professional may have her license suspended or revoked after a crime related to domestic violence.
In the case of a police officer, laws prohibit convicted felons and those convicted of even misdemeanor domestic violence offense from carrying firearms, making it very difficult for an officer convicted of such an offense to do his job.
New Jersey residents charged with crimes related to domestic violence should consider the possible consequences of a conviction carefully and evaluate their legal options.