What to Do After a DUI Conviction in New Jersey
You know the social stigma associated with a DUI/DWI conviction. If you’ve been charged, then you know the sting first-hand. The consequences of driving while under the influence are steep in our state, and the conviction has a way of following you wherever you go. Even worse, if you’re convicted again within a specific time period, then your penalties will be even more severe. Learn everything you need to know about life after a DUI conviction below.
Consequences of a DWI Conviction in NJ
If you were accused of driving under the influence, then you were likely brought directly to the police station. After a night in jail, you awoke with not only a hangover but also a serious predicament on your hands. Your first thoughts were about how to gather up bail and get free, but you’ll have to deal with further penalties later on down the road.
Here are some of the consequences of a DUI in New Jersey:
- Fines up to $1,000
- Court-ordered community service (up to 90 days)
- Imprisonment up to 180 days
- Getting your license suspended for up to ten years
- Court-ordered rehabilitation
These penalties all apply to first-time offenders. If you already have a DUI conviction on your record, then the court will judge you even more severely. The maximum threshold for all the penalties outlined above increases.
Can My DWI Get Expunged In NJ?
Many types of crimes can get erased from your record after a period of time in New Jersey, but DUI charges are not one of them. DUI convictions are considered traffic offenses rather than crimes, so it won’t do you any good to attempt an expungement. A DUI will remain on your driving record forever.
Ten-Year Step Down
While the offense can’t be erased, courtrooms will give you more leniency for a second-time offense that occurs more than ten years after your last one. You may get treated as a first-time offender if that much time has passed. This leniency is often called a ten-year step-down. The original DUI remains on your record and is still considered, but it doesn’t hold as much weight after that long.
Contact An Experienced Camden County DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges In New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at Jill R. Cohen represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Camden County , Camden, Cherry Hill, and throughout New Jersey.
Call (856) 351-5115 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a consultation about your case. We have an office located at 210 Haddon Avenue Camden County , NJ 08108.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.