Simple Assault Lawyer in New Jersey
South Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney Helps Clients Beat Simple Assault Charges in Camden, Gloucester, Burlington, Atlantic, Salem, Mercer, and Cape May County, NJ
Although the misdemeanor conviction involved with a simple assault charge may at first seem like something not worth worrying about, six months in jail and $1,000 in fines can still be pretty damaging. Even worse could be the damage done to your future reputation and career opportunities. This is why you need to see an experienced criminal defense attorney if you are facing simple assault charges. If you are facing a simple assault charge, a skilled and dedicated New Jersey criminal defense attorney is a must to defend your innocence or get penalties reduced and to avoid a potential alteration to an aggravated assault charge. Contact the law office of Jill R. Cohen to get a quality defense attorney today.
Definition of Simple Assault Under New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A 2C:12-1(a)
Simple assault crimes are classified as a disorderly persons offense or a petty disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. Penalties and decided classification depend on the severity of the criminal acts involved.
New Jersey Statute 2C:12-1(a) defines simple assault as:
- Purposely, knowingly, or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person.
- Negligently causing bodily injury with the use of a deadly weapon.
- Using physical menace or threatening someone to put them in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
When the fight or altercation occurs consensually by all participating parties, the charge is classified as a petty disorderly persons offense. Otherwise, it is a disorderly persons offense.
Simple Assault Conviction Penalties in Camden, Burlington, Gloucester, Mercer & Atlantic County, NJ
Although much less severe than aggravated assault conviction penalties, simple assault penalties are still a serious charge and case. You can still be jailed for up to six months and fined up to $1000. In addition to these penalties, a permanent criminal record can be very damaging to your future. Most companies won’t even cconsider someone with a criminal record, especially a violent one, even for something as minor as simple assault. Not only that, but you can also lose your legal right to drive or own a firearm in New Jersey.
How a Simple Assault Charge Can be Turned Into Aggravated Assault in Burlington County, New Jersey
There are scenarios where, what you thought would be a “no big deal” simple assault charge, is changed into a much more serious aggravated assault charge. There are a lot of skilled and clever criminal prosecutors out there who can put you into a much more serious situation in which you would instead be facing a felony-level offense. If a prosecutor can procure evidence showing that you seriously disregard human life, the presence of a deadly weapon, or clear intent or planning to harm the victim, you could have your charges escalated and end up incarcerated in state prison. Which is why having a quality criminal defense attorney like Jill R. Cohen, who has years of experience working as a criminal defense attorney and a prosecutor, can make a huge difference in your final assault conviction.
Dedicated and Experienced Simple Assault Attorney Provides Free Initial Consultations Regarding Your New Jersey Charges
Assault convictions, aggravated or not, still come with unpleasant penalties and terrible consequences on future career opportunities. Don’t let that happen to you. Contact Jill R. Cohen, Esq. for a free initial consultation regarding your New Jersey simple assault charges. Jill Cohen has been representing criminal defendants throughout New Jersey in Camden, Cherry Hill, Gloucester Township, Winslow, Pennsauken, Voorhees, Lindenwold, Haddon Township, Collingswood and Haddonfield.